top of page

Painting for relaxation and self; how not to go broke

As I, like every other twenty year old, try to navigate my way through the stresses of adult life, I am pelted with a variety of ways one can unwind at the end of a long day or grueling week.

Painting works for me, and though it doesn’t work for everybody, nothing makes me feel better than a few hours of swirling colors and good music. However, I’m not painting to be the next Picasso, I’m painting to let out steam. If this sounds like something that could work for you, I have a few tips that could save you money in the long-run.

Acrylic paints

I use Apple Barrel acrylic craft paints. You can buy them at Jo-Ann Fabric and Craft store or Plaid’s (the company that manufactures the paint) website for $1 each, where you can also find higher quality craft paints.

Or, you could buy them (albeit with a slightly smaller color selection) at Walmart for $.50. This is a pretty great deal.

Canvas

While you’re there, you can also pick up canvases in bulk at a great deal. I recently bought a three pack of 11x14 panel canvases for only around $5.

Remember, it is important not to judge your paintings too harshly. This should be a relaxing hobby, and you don’t have to be the best artist in the world to be a better artist than you were yesterday.

Below are some paintings of mine. Enjoy, and feel free to submit pictures of your paintings to us on Facebook!

bottom of page